Izy

Izy is currently one of our favorite restaurants. Having gone there for the omakase dinner on my birthday last month and enjoyed it very much, B and I have separately gone back to Izy for their set lunch a few times. However, it was not until last night that we had the opportunity to return for dinner again, this time with S joining us.

20140112-220028.jpg

Being greedy pigs, we decided to opt for the omakase, so we could try more items (which also meant that ordering was a breeze – no angsting over whether what to order, other than whether to get sake or not). B and S ended up ordering a little carafe of sake for sharing while waiting for our omakase feast to begin.

20140112-220344.jpg

20140112-220355.jpg

The first dish was a 2-in-1 combi item of ginger rolls and fried yam served with truffle salt. The ginger roll was more palatable than I expected, and when I discovered later that it contained pork belly, I was both impressed and horrified – impressed given that it did not taste porky at all even to a non pork eater like me, and horrified cos I ate pork belly (omg!)! The yam was crispy on the outside and sticky and yam-y on the inside, and I really liked the truffle salt that accompanied the yam.

Ginger rolls and fried yam with truffle salt.

20140112-220958.jpg

The next dish was a favorite of mine from the last time we visited Izy for dinner, and I was happy to see that it featured again last evening! The poached lobster was juicy and the scallop tender, but the highlight of this dish was the sweet and sour broth the lobster and scallop were sitting in. The broth and the lime zest that was grated onto the dish just before serving made this dish light and refreshing, and is appetite-stimulating.

Lobster and scallop in sweet and sour broth.

20140112-221419.jpg

The third dish was the fried Ebi, served with tartar sauce, tomato salsa, pickled onions and special salt. While the Ebi was crispy and not greasy, I must say that it is. It as good as the signature chicken karaage I had on my previous visit.

Fried Ebi.

20140112-221711.jpg

Next up was the grilled dish, and in my opinion, the best dish for the evening. The charcoal grilled swordfish with seaweed cream sauce was rather spectacular. I could taste the char-grilled flavour, and the fish was tender and melt-in-your-mouth – no mean feat considering how lean and often dry swordfish tends to be!

20140112-222018.jpg

The 5th course was the rice dish, and mine was the truffle yakitori bowl, while my dining companions who do not have dietary restrictions had the truffle wagyu bowl.

Truffle wagyu bowl.

20140112-222248.jpg

Truffle yakitori bowl.

20140112-222324.jpg

The truffle flavour was intense and wonderful, and I could smell the district truffle flavour even before the lid was lifted off my bowl. While I would have been happy enough with the yakitori and truffles, as I dug into the bowl, I discovered a pleasant surprise – there was an egg hidden in the rice!

As stirred to mix the ingredients together, the gooey gorgeous yolk oozed out. Yums!

20140112-222613.jpg

Finally, the last course was dessert. We were served with one of each of the 3 dessert options for sharing – the shiso sorbet with plum jelly, the chocolate mousse with white miso cream and the blue cheese ice-cream with honey.

20140112-222814.jpg

The chocolate mousse was my favorite of the lot, though the shiso sorbet was also very refreshing and palate-cleansing. The blue cheese ice cream, well, tasted like blue cheese. Since neither S nor I particularly liked blue cheese, we each only tasted a small bite of it before it was handed over to B for him to enjoy.

I appreciated that the chefs consciously varied the dishes we had last evening from the normal omakase menu, such as replacing the chicken karaage which we have had before with the fried Ebi. I was also very pleased (and relieved) that I enjoyed my second dinner visit as much as I did the first, as I often find myself disappointed when I re-visit a restaurant I had liked on a previous visit. I would however return on a weekday night for my next visit, as the restaurant is busier on weekends, and we could not linger for long after dessert as there were second seating guests waiting for our seats.

Izy
27 Club Street
Singapore

20140112-224401.jpg

Leave a Reply

